top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAbby McCredie

"being a university student"

Updated: Mar 16, 2022

Before I started applying for University I was an average grade student, my goals when it came to University and where I wanted to end up in my career and life weren't decided. I knew that I had wanted to get into the University of Sydney or UNSW since these were the Universities that my parents had gone to and they were close by. However, at school I experienced a lot of doubt from teachers based on my past academic success or not.

When I sat the HSC exams throughout the end of 2020 I was nervous and my own self doubt on whether I would do well grew bigger, I didn't do well in my trial exam at all and there was so much pressure to get things right in such a short span of time. This time went by and it was the middle of November. I was done!

I had now decided on going to UOW and everything was going well. This changed in December when I learned that I had offers at the two Universities that I had always wanted to get into which led to another month of me being conflicted on what path to choose. But I ultimately chose UOW so then I could learn to be independent, this was a big change since I didn't have great social and communication skills this didn't matter as much as I would have thought I made friends with the people that I lived with and spent way too much money when going out to various clubs and social events.

Before I started Communications and Media degree I didn't realise that I would enjoy the subject so much. In hindsight it would make sense why would enjoy it because most of the assessments I get to write about any topic relating media as I would like which extends to movies and tv shows.

I am now a 2nd year student, classes are starting this week and I'm already anxious and excited to how this next semester and year of University is going to go.


Podcasts I love listening to:

  • Shameless

  • You're Wrong About

  • Maintenance Phase

  • Clementine Ford's Big Sister Hotline

  • It's A Lot by Abbie Chatfield

  • Conan O'Brian Needs A Friend

  • The Daily


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Blog 3 VCD302

I think when it came to my project goals, I believe I did spend too much time on my ideation process. I believe that I should have come...

Blog 2 VCD302

Initially, I had looked at some advertisements that I remembered from when I was growing up in the early 2000’s. I remembered one in...

Comments


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page