top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAbby McCredie

Introduction to the site.

Updated: Oct 28, 2022



Based on the map of my field site, my media niche is narrowed down to focus on music fans. I will focus on collecting data about music through the platforms of fandom Instagram pages, fan blogs and comment sections of musicians and artists that I am also a fan of.


My participant observations come from the way particular fandoms interact with the artist, each other and organise themselves on. For example on Instagram, fans of Green Day present themselves as being rebellious and interact with each other through reposting photos of the band to dedicated fan pages.


Background research is also crucial, as I must not only use my own methodological tools and research literature to analyse experiences, but consider ways others may experience similar epiphanies (Ellis et al. 2011).


It is useful to include academic and scholarly sources to back up the data. It is also helpful to look outside my niche to compare and argue. Using background sources to back up claims made in the analysis of my epiphanies. One of the key ways of analysing the data is by challenging your own assumptions.


The online persona is inspired by websites like Triple J or Triple J Hack which produce entertainment news and current affairs for a younger audience. This means their approach is easy to read and straightforward (also politically left which fits with the types of bands and news angles they report from).


However, I will also use Instagram and Twitter as tools to promote my work.

This will include uploading links to blog posts, memes and additional music and entertainment news pulled from secondary sources like an artists' or venues' Instagram accounts.


For my production timeline, I am planning to take time on Monday mornings to gather information to brainstorm ideas for a post, Thursdays to start writing a draft for the blogs then edit and release the blog post by Friday morning.


Ethical considerations I would need to keep in mind include that I cannot interview or collect data from participants directly. I should not misinterpret or make claims about a participant and their work that can’t be supported by background sources. I should also be mindful that people who are fans of musicians may get confused or offended if I am not clear enough explaining my opinions.







14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Blog 3 VCD302

I think when it came to my project goals, I believe I did spend too much time on my ideation process. I believe that I should have come...

Blog 2 VCD302

Initially, I had looked at some advertisements that I remembered from when I was growing up in the early 2000’s. I remembered one in...

Comentários


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page