top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAbby McCredie

My Curiosity: Disability Services at University

Updated: Aug 1, 2022












One aspect of University that I have been curious about is disability services and how these help students with medical conditions, disabilities and injuries. Whether or not these experiences with the University's services are positive, helpful or could be improved.

I asked a questions on my #bcm212 twitter column about student's experiences with these services on campus, whether they were positive experiences or if they could be improved. My tweet got 3 responses, @sammiequaver says "...It gave me extra time...it was a good safety net. Although having to renew it every year when my disability hasn't changed" which indicates that they were pleased with the services provided but were frustrated with the technical aspects of facilities and services, @maddyhawkins states that she had a largely positive experience with the services provided saying "They have been great in supporting me through Uni by allowing extra time for assignments and exams." However, her experience is similar to the first correspondent believing "I think their communication could be improved...". I also messaged a relative who had recommended that I sign up for disability services at UOW, she says "...It helped me achieve results I am proud of whilst taking care of my mental and physical by allowing me to access extra support and flexibility with my studies." indicating a mostly positive experience

In my report I plan to use research methods using the UX (User experience) method through interviewing and delivering questionnaires to students that have positive, negative or neutral experiences with these services and how the University could use this data to receive feedback on their services.



3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

BCM212 Pitch Proposal

My research project will examine the topic of disability services at UOW. The purpose of the research will be to understand how these...

Commentaires


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page