top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAbby McCredie

Commentator on board?

Updated: Sep 16, 2022





In my pitch and peer commentary of the pitch proposal blog post and video, I decided to provide commentary on Joshua Martins' blog 'Digitally Reaching Out of the Board'.

In his blog post I made sure to us the marking criteria as a guide to help me analyse the blog post. In Joshua Martins' blog it was clear that he understood the assessment task from the introduction. Where he describes that he understands the importance of participant observation when using ethnography as a research method. His awareness of this idea shows that his communication in the video was effective enough for me to pick up on.

Reading Joshua Martins' blog post gave me some perspective into the different ideas, other students have for their Digital Artefact since he has chosen to create a board game. His process is mostly himself working on the board game, documenting it, playtesting it and studying the reactions from it which proves the data collection involves a lot of participant observation. The blog post also gave me insight into the ways that students have used field site maps as a way to manage their time in creating their Digital Artefact.

Although, Joshua Martins' blog post is fairly short his production timeline is clearly mapped out in 'Weekly Planner' infographic which instructs the viewer of his creative process. This gave me more of an idea of how I could improve my own production timeline for my blog site and making sure that the consumers of my content are properly engaged with the posts I am producing.

As for my own work, analysing Joshua Martins' pitch proposal video. I learnt that I should plan my Digital Artefact production outline more clearly not only to show in my report but a plan that will ensure an effective report on my research. I have also seen on his page that his field site map goes into a lot of further detail of the production process to a timeline finalising the product which is a great tool I can use for myself to compare the level of clarity he has communicated in this map and how I can replicate this in my own work. In his pitch video it is clear that he understands his topic since he is using the same idea for different subjects. I was inspired by the level of understanding by the author which conveyed that it was a subject he enjoyed learning about. I would say that in my own research I am in a similar position where I also thoroughly enjoy the subject that I am researching.

In future, I will mention my own Digital Artefact as a comparison to consider what both authors did well, the effectiveness in each pitch video, the quality of professionalism in regards to the investment or interest in the topic audience the author has decided to research, the structure and organisation of the presented materials and the evidence of engagement with the subject lectures and resources.





3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Blog 3 VCD302

I think when it came to my project goals, I believe I did spend too much time on my ideation process. I believe that I should have come...

Blog 2 VCD302

Initially, I had looked at some advertisements that I remembered from when I was growing up in the early 2000’s. I remembered one in...

Comentarios


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page