top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAbby McCredie

Podcast Broadcasting as a Media niche.

Updated: Sep 16, 2022





My media niche is analysing the audience data for my podcast 'Tuning In', inspired by other podcasts like Shameless with Michelle Andrews and Zara McDonald where they share and analyse celebrity and pop culture news cycles.


The podcast is mainly focusing on young local creatives and artists so I am hoping to notate patterns in the data in terms of demographics to ensure that I am reaching my target audience.


The platforms I plan to track my data are an Instagram page where I plan to focus on the age ranges and geographic location of the users. The Instagram account will also allow me to see exactly who is viewing my accounts especially if I am looking at which accounts are viewing my Instagram stories. My Instagram account should have links to the artists or musicians' social media accounts this will also be a tool to see the users that are attracted to my podcast through these artists being featured on my podcast.

I am releasing the podcast to Spotify through an app and website called Anchor this is a great way to also track the viewer and usership for my content.


As for my social media pages themselves I am hoping to create a warm and personal touch to the content making it an account where people feel comfortable leaving feedback or suggestions that will be read and received. As well as artists, big or small feel comfortable asking if they would like to be featured.


My persona as the ethnographer is very important as I am analysing the way that my own voice is being received by the audience and will shape the way the audience will interpret the information which is being shared in the posts. In my ethnographic analysis I am hoping to create a persona which allows for readers to feel comfortable having a blend of light-hearted discussions with sharing stories and struggles they may have had starting out as a young creative.


In my ethnographic research I want to be able to distinguish when readers and contributors first start listening to the podcast and whether or not these users return in order to observe the participants and determine what podcast content is received well.


I'm starting with producing reports on the data each week that I am releasing the episodes. This will include seeing which users are viewing my Instagram stories, whether I have received any comments, tracking reach, impressions and if I attract any new listeners through promoting my podcast through the Instagram account.

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Blog 3 VCD302

I think when it came to my project goals, I believe I did spend too much time on my ideation process. I believe that I should have come...

Blog 2 VCD302

Initially, I had looked at some advertisements that I remembered from when I was growing up in the early 2000’s. I remembered one in...

Comments


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page