top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAbby McCredie

Blog post 3

Upon reflection, when creating my project I used three key elements when it came to the process. 


One of the most important elements of this project was my technical achievements. I was able to understand primary motion or basic movement such as being able to move texts or imported footage in my project, secondary motion or temporal motion.


My technique was strong when it came to getting the timeline correct, making sure that my imported images matched the time that a text or name would appear in the clips and also making sure that there wasn’t a lot of lagging. In future projects,


I would probably add more to the video when it comes to imported footage and background. I would have used better time management skills to experiment with interesting transitions. 


Another important factor in my project was design or aesthetic outcomes. I made sure to take notes on the film and draw on aspects that I could use in my project, the soundtrack is a blend of popular songs from the 1960s (I was inspired to use a song that reminded me of these), bringing feelings of nostalgia and cultural awareness.


The music is used to show specific moments and highlight the emotional impact of the narrative. The colour palette I used to create my clip, I was inspired by the 1960s as well, as well as the scenes in the film that show when Brittany Murphy’s character gets released from care, the house is filled with light pastel colours and diverse fabrics and materials which was intriguing.


In future projects I hope to go into more detail that reflects the style of the house's walls and art decor. I also decided to use a pastel colour palette as it reminded me of Elizabeth Moss’ character, a traumatised and unfortunately interesting character that shows a lot of complexity to her human experience.


I was inspired to use a thin typeface through the film’s opening sequence, where the font is cursive and thin, evoking emotion like fear or uncertainty. The typeface I used, Baskerville, gives some similar themes but is more clinical.


The word clinical being synonymous with words like cold or detached. I observed through the ideas presented in the film and this font, an idea like separation as in the 1960s there was an idea that people who had mental illness should not participate in society.


The concept and ideation phase was one of my favourite stages, being able to list some of the movies I watched before and draw on the most interesting moments to create something new from my own perspective.


Almost as if I am giving an interpretation of the film. I had multiple ideas on movies Julie vs Julia and Mona Lisa, Smile also being films that were heavily researched. When I came up with the idea for Girl, Interrupted the external ideas came quickly I had a strong understanding of the film of what it meant for the audience to watch the movie and how to articulate the important messages and recreate it.


The illustrating phase as a result came naturally, as I had a defined idea for the colour palette from what I had noticed in the film. The choice to use illustrations was important as it further communicated concepts I noticed in the film. The execution or being able to effectively translate my idea into the new platform. I had been intimidated by After Effects, especially the timeline aspect. This was a part of the project I should have ruminated further on. 


In the future, I would mainly propose new ideas for projects. Making sure that I properly researched the film’s central ideas or themes. Consider what didn’t go well like the later technical stages, falling behind in class and figuring out how to make a new project with an unfamiliar platform. Ideas for improvement especially time management and deciding on a clear idea sooner. 


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Blog 3 VCD302

I think when it came to my project goals, I believe I did spend too much time on my ideation process. I believe that I should have come...

Blog 2 VCD302

Initially, I had looked at some advertisements that I remembered from when I was growing up in the early 2000’s. I remembered one in...

Comments


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page